Default Helping the Newb

Hey guys I'm still a young inspector learning the process and had a question. I've never seen PVC directly connected to the water supply main like this before is this ok? I didn't know if it could handle the pressure or not. Thanks!!!

Similar Threads:
    ***IMPORTANT*** You Need To Register To View Images ***IMPORTANT*** You Need To Register To View Images
    Member Benefits1

Default Re: Helping the Newb

Quote Originally Posted by Aaron Scheuerer View Post
    Hey guys I'm still a young inspector learning the process and had a question. I've never seen PVC directly connected to the water supply main like this before is this ok? I didn't know if it could handle the pressure or not. Thanks!!!
    Hi Aaron,

To the best of my knowledge, PVC is not approved for use within the building envelope for water supply. It is ok for DWV.

Department of Redundancy Department
    Supreme Emperor of Hyperbole
    http://www.FullCircleInspect.com/

Is that white (and just dirty) or is that yellowish)

White would be PVC, yellowish would be CPVC.

Both are permitted for that use.

The thing which caught my eye is that the shut off valve is on the supply side of the meter (presuming that the plastic piping is the house side).

I'm not sure of other areas, but I've always found the shut off valve on the house side.

The utility shut off valve is typically by the street from my experience, the utility shut off valve allows replacement of the meter ... the valve shown would allow the homeowner to remove the valve and replace it with pipe between meter readings.

- - - Updated - - -

Quote Originally Posted by Gunnar Alquist View Post
    Hi Aaron,

To the best of my knowledge, PVC is not approved for use within the building envelope for water supply. It is ok for DWV.
    That looks like it is the water service pipe outside the building ... but that is a good clarification which needs to be made as the location does matter.

Jerry Peck