Andrew Wilson Guest

Default Standards on how to assess plumb tolerances of brick veneer wall.

Hello all,
    I am a masonry contractor, and I wanted to see if someone would point me in a direction on how to assess allowable tolerances for "rolls" in the wall may occur, ie if you stood at the bottom of the wall and looked directly up and the wall fell vertically out of plum but then a few courses up further the wall fell back into vertical plum. forming a kind of "s" or a roll...

I've been seeing a lot of ASTM C216, citing the allowance of the brick manufacture to have brick that are not perfect, but nothing that speaks to the contractors allowable tolerances installing the brick veneer.

I have seen allowable bed joint tolerances @ +/- 1/8" through ACI 530-05 and ASCE 5-05. that would allow me to have a bigger bed joint, where the brick would start to fall out of plumb, but I cant find anything that directly addresses the tolerances of how far the wall may fall vertically out of plumb.

And the last issue I am having, is how do we go about looking at the wall to assess these tolerances... Should we be at walking pace, 20' away from the wall looking at it? Any help on how you look at the wall to assess these standards would be appreciated.

Any help would be appreciated

Similar Threads:
    Member Benefits1

Default Re: Standards on how to assess plumb tolerances of brick veneer wall.

Here's one reference guide - checkout part "J-Construction Tolerances".http://www.gobrick.com/portals/25/do...otes/tn11c.pdf

1. Maximum variation from plumb in vertical lines and surfaces of columns, walls and arrises:
    a. 1/4 in. (6.4 mm) in 10 ft. (3 m).
    b. 3/8 in. (9.6 mm) in a story height not to exceed 20 ft. (6 m).
    c. 1/2 in. (12.7 mm) in 40 ft. (12 m) or more.

Most codes reference ACI 530.

My recollection is 1/2" off plumb line in 10 feet, and 1" off straight line in 20 feet.

ACI 530 is the standard for masonry.