Default Violations of code

Hi,
    I believe this stairway in a house is in violation of the building code when it was constructed in Laguna Beach, California in 2004. I am not exactly sure of the date of construction, it could have been later, but how are houses constructed in violation? How is that allowed? When should this putative violation have been discovered and corrected, or is it possibly excepted?

I am an attorney and my client fell down this set of stairs. Any help would be appreciated.

Similar Threads:
    ***IMPORTANT*** You Need To Register To View Images ***IMPORTANT*** You Need To Register To View Images
    Inspection Referral

Default Re: Violations of code

You will need better pictures than this to get any help here.
    You'll probably need a local expert witness as well, which shouldn't be hard to find in California.

Jim Robinson
    New Mexico, USA

Jon, Is it that the stairs need a railing ? Problem with the rise or run of the stairs ?

How and why is a matter of the original permit process unless things were altered from the original permits and occupancy permit.

You have too speak with the local permit office or find an expert to offer their opinion if you are going to court.

Could the original inspection process permitted the stairs as they are now ? Yes, if they received the occupancy permit. Why, you have to talk to the original permit inspector. Do you have access to the original plans? There could have been a railing that was removed after receiving the occupancy permit.

Reoriented the OP picture to prevent vertigo and neck strain or possibly mitigate the trauma when you fall out of your chair leaning sideways to view picture.

***IMPORTANT*** You Need To Register To View Images ***IMPORTANT*** You Need To Register To View Images
    Last edited by Garry Sorrells; 06-08-2017 at 02:06 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Garry Sorrells View Post