Default Insurance Advice - General Liability (GL) & Errors and Omissions (E&O)

Hey everybody,

I am new to the business and attempting to determine which insurance provider to use, and what limits and types of coverage to get. In Florida, I am required to carry at a minimum $300k of General Liability coverage, but am not required to carry E&O insurance, although I think it may be a good idea.

So far, I've received a few quotes ranging between $1700-2100 depending on premium and limits. This seems high to me, especially as my revenue will be quite slow at first until I built up a customer base.

Wanted to hear from some of you seasoned experts out there. Which provider do you use? How has your experience been with them? What should I except to pay for GL and E&O starting out? What limits, if any, do you recommend for each? Do the premiums come down over time? Have you all ever had to make a claim? If so, would love to hear more about the claim and the process.

Thanks a lot!!!
    Kurt

Similar Threads:
    Member Benefits1

Default Re: Insurance Advice - General Liability (GL) & Errors and Omissions (E&O)

As a fellow Florida Home Inspector, those premiums are low compared to where they were 10-15 years ago (at least 2x that quote, back then).
    They are, however, in line with the current rates.

All in all, they are a "cost of doing business" and you need to budget for these expenses. Your limited experience may be exactly why the rates go up (think about it...)

Call Ben Garrison with Elite/MGA (302-690-9839) for a quote. He's very knowledgeable and helpful, and I use him for my General Liability & E/O Insurance.

Dom.

Default Re: Insurance Advice - General Liability (GL) & Errors and Omissions (E&O)

Quote Originally Posted by Dom D'Agostino View Post
    As a fellow Florida Home Inspector, those premiums are low compared to where they were 10-15 years ago (at least 2x that quote, back then).
    They are, however, in line with the current rates.