Default How to Report on Limitations of a Fully Furnished House

As a new home inspector, I have a very real scenario that I'm wondering how you guys and gals have gone about inspecting and reporting on....

I recently inspected a home that was fully furnished. And when I say fully furnished, I mean that every single inch of the floor and walls were covered in furniture, rugs, baby toys, and other decor, every cabinet was filled to the brim with food, dishes, etc., both bedrooms were covered with clothes and baby toys, and even the exterior of the property was covered with garbage, home projects, sheds, etc. Basically the tenants were very close to being hoarders.

I did my best at observing the home and testing as many systems and components as possible, but in reality, there were so many limitations that it made it very difficult. What I ended up doing was taking pictures of every room in the house to visually show the limitations in my report. Mainly, I'm interested in hearing how some of you report on these limitations? Do you literally need to go into each and every section of the report and list out all of the limitations? For example, I'd be repeating myself multiple times for the interior, electrical receptacles and fixtures, kitchen cabinets and counters, appliances, and exterior. And do I need to show photos of all of these areas (basically the entire house) in my report? Or can I simply have 1 broad-ranging statement at the beginning of my report that says something along the lines of "The house was occupied and fully furnished at the time of the inspection, presenting significant limitations in most, if not all areas of the home." etc.?

What do you all do in a situation like this? Thank you for your responses!

Kurt

Similar Threads:
    Crawl Space Creeper

Default Re: How to Report on Limitations of a Fully Furnished House

Quote Originally Posted by Kurt Stein View Post