Default 4 MAINs (to 4 meters) in rusted out conduit in a condominium garage

The conduit for all 4 condos enters from the slab at the garage floor of the unit I inspected. While this can be expected when using conduit within concrete due to moisture, I am wondering what can be done to correct this. As an Inspector I do not care, but these are relatives and they do not know whether the association would be responsible or the utility? Also wondering the wiring being exposed at the rusted out section is a danger? Finally, in your opinion can they just brick around it so it is not exposed?

Similar Threads:
    ***IMPORTANT*** You Need To Register To View Images ***IMPORTANT*** You Need To Register To View Images
    OREP Insurance

Default Re: 4 MAINs (to 4 meters) in rusted out conduit in a condominium garage

1) Looks like EMT. To the best of my knowledge, EMT is not approved for burial. I cannot tell if this is buried in soil or embedded in concrete. Clearly that is a significant defect and should be corrected.

2) Only correction that I can imagine is replacement of damaged sections of conduit. Around here, buried conduit is PVC.

3) In my area, the service conduit is the responsibility of the homeowner. The best bet would be to contact the utility company, but I suspect it will be on the association.

4) Hmmm... are exposed wires a hazard? Not to me, but then again, I'm not there. To someone nearby? Yes.

5) Sure, you *can* just brick around it. But, that wouldn't be a proper/acceptable repair. It *should* be replaced.

Department of Redundancy Department
    Supreme Emperor of Hyperbole
    http://www.FullCircleInspect.com/

Quote Originally Posted by Gunnar Alquist View Post
    1) Looks like EMT. To the best of my knowledge, EMT is not approved for burial. I cannot tell if this is buried in soil or embedded in concrete. Clearly that is a significant defect and should be corrected.