Default New Member - Trying to get assistance

Hi. I am a small business owner (I teach science and offer science camps) in Georgia. I have had an ongoing issue with my landlord.
    The back stairs (emergency exit) to my leased commercial space have terrible stairs. Landlord agreed to fix stairs when I signed lease, but now claims that the stairs were "to code" in 1980 when building was built.

I will post pictures of stairs shortly.

I don't think "it used to be to code" is an excuse not to fix the stairs. I also do not think it was ever to code, and he has done construction to the building several times without obtaining a permit.

His answer today was that he is going to board up the back Exit to my space. Space is 1927 sq.ft.

Similar Threads:
    Member Benefits1

Thanks for posting here and welcome to InspectionNews!

You will find a ton of information here but don't forget about the Member Benefits too.

Some save you time, others save you money and some do both!

Make sure you view the list of Member Benefits at: http://www.InspectionNews.net/home_i...MemberBenefits

View The List Of InspectionNews Member Benefits!

-----------------
    Sincerely,
    Brian Hannigan
    InspectionNews.net / InspectionReferral.com
    Helping Inspectors $ucceed Since 1997TM

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/InspectionNews
    Twitter: @InspectionNews

Default Re: New Member - Trying to get assistance

Quote Originally Posted by Julie Hleap View Post
    Landlord agreed to fix stairs when I signed lease, but now claims that the stairs were "to code" in 1980 when building was built.

I don't think "it used to be to code" is an excuse not to fix the stairs.
    Whether the stairs 'meet code' or not, what it may come down to is what was 'in the agreement' when the landlord said that he would "fix stairs".

Written or verbal agreement?

What did "fix stairs" mean?