Thread: French door gap

brooke blumetti Guest

Default French door gap

I recently had french doors installed, and there is a good 1 inch gap underneath. When I asked the contractor, they came and installed big black wrap around door sweeps. I think it looks awful, but I have no construction knowledge. Is this the standard? Thank you! IMG_9571.JPG57569334626__409A5943-C16D-4569-A865-698F59C89884.JPG

Similar Threads:
    OREP Insurance

Default Re: French door gap

Quote Originally Posted by brooke blumetti View Post
    I recently had french doors installed, and there is a good 1 inch gap underneath. When I asked the contractor, they came and installed big black wrap around door sweeps. I think it looks awful, but I have no construction knowledge. Is this the standard? Thank you! IMG_9571.JPG57569334626__409A5943-C16D-4569-A865-698F59C89884.JPG
    So are there gaps at the front exterior side too? If there is no shoe, water will enter right through that sweep. Residential isn't like PW projects where there are strict tolerances , for the most part, its really just subjective. That is, what looks good and what looks like crap.
    Do you have better pics?

brooke blumetti Guest

Quote Originally Posted by Marc M View Post
    So are there gaps at the front exterior side too? If there is no shoe, water will enter right through that sweep. Residential isn't like PW projects where there are strict tolerances , for the most part, its really just subjective. That is, what looks good and what looks like crap.
    Do you have better pics?