Default Multiple Appliance Venting Systems

Hey guys, I'm a chimney tech and I ran across a code in the IRC 2006 that I need some clarification on.

-----

"M1801.11 Multiple-appliance venting systems: Two or more listed and labeled appliances connected to a common natural draft venting system shall comply with the following requirements:

1)
    2)
    3) Connectors serving appliances operating under a natural draft shall not be connected to any portion of a mechanical draft system operating under positive pressure."

Does this mean that you cannot connect a water heater and a furnace together with a Y-Pipe before it goes into a chimney?

Similar Threads:
    OREP Insurance

Default Re: Multiple Appliance Venting Systems

Quote Originally Posted by Justin Fehl View Post
    Hey guys, I'm a chimney tech and I ran across a code in the IRC 2006 that I need some clarification on.

-----

"M1801.11 Multiple-appliance venting systems: Two or more listed and labeled appliances connected to a common natural draft venting system shall comply with the following requirements:

1)
    2)
    3) Connectors serving appliances operating under a natural draft shall not be connected to any portion of a mechanical draft system operating under positive pressure."

Does this mean that you cannot connect a water heater and a furnace together with a Y-Pipe before it goes into a chimney?
    There are different gas appliance categories, I through IV, and positive pressure such as high efficiency furnaces with PVC pipe vents function under positive pressure where as standard water heaters with single wall or b-vent metal chimneys and draft hoods function under negative pressure. The negative pressure means the chimney stacks draw or draft sucking exhaust to outdoors rather than being pushed with fans to outside. Be careful though, inducer fans are used on some furnaces that are actually negative pressure systems.