Default Why do some water heaters have a missing manufactures tag??

I have been doing real estate inspections since 1994 and one thing that comes up every once in a while that I have never gotten what I consider to be a good answer to is why some water heaters are missing the manufactures tag. The only answer I have gotten is it voids the warranty, however then why would anyone remove it? Can anyone help me with this one?

Similar Threads:
    Member Benefits1

Default Re: Why do some water heaters have a missing manufactures tag??

I have seen a number of them as well over the years. My only guess is was a returned unit for some reason and the dealer (big box store or plumbing supply house) removed the tag and sold it to some liquidation warehouse or shady plumber.
    The majority of the ones I have seen are in homes with less than stellar improvements.

Typically, a plumbing contractor removed the label from a unit being replaced under warranty, as they are being reimbursed or getting a new warranty replacement unit.
    Dealer/vendor is supposed to "scrap" the unit.

I've been told the defective ones are "fixed" or repaired in place, and not actually removed.
    Connect the dots yourself.

Quote Originally Posted by Robert Pace View Post
    I have been doing real estate inspections since 1994 and one thing that comes up every once in a while that I have never gotten what I consider to be a good answer to is why some water heaters are missing the manufactures tag. The only answer I have gotten is it voids the warranty, however then why would anyone remove it? Can anyone help me with this one?
    My only thought on this would be that they are installing older water heaters, if the house was built in 2000, you do not want them to install a water heater that was built in 1995. so they are purposely removing the tag to make it seem new..