Thread: brick lintel

Default brick lintel

Hello everyone , Inspected a 4yo home yesterday and found the brick lintel
    has a splice about 6 foot away from righ side. ( brick) Appears the angle iron had been welded together and ground down smooth. weld has cracked.

called local building inspection division and they tell me there is no code on
    brick lintels.
    any help please

Similar Threads:
    Member Benefits1

imported_John Smith Guest

Default Re: brick lintel

There may not be any applicable "codes" in your jurisdiction Mark. Where do you live? Are you an HI or a home builder trolling for information. Either is fine.

You dont have to have a code for everything. Somethings just arent right. If a weld is cracked, it isnt right. Someone went to the trouble to weld it, at least it should be a good weld. If not, why bother even trying to weld it.

John I am a home inspector in Ky. It just seems so stupid for something like this not to be in code book. I looked at the 2002 code book and could not find anything. Thanks for your reply.

First,

Is it a "lintel" of a "shelf angle"? Makes a big difference.

Jerry Peck
    Construction/Litigation/Code Consultant - Retired
    www.AskCodeMan.com

Mark - Welcome to the board!
    Please fill in your profile so your location shows up when you post. Sometimes it really makes a difference.

Jerry I was raised up in the residential building buisness and my Dad always called it a lintel. ( that is a piece of angle iron that supports brick or stone over windows, or doors 0

Brian Thomas Guest

I always see lintels as flat pieces of steel that span the openings on brick buildings.

Lintels can be solid stone or steel. What Jerry is refering to is the steel sold in the big box stores as lintel. Take a look at it sometime when you are in there. It is deformed, I guess to give a better purchase to the mortar.

Quote Originally Posted by Brian Thomas View Post